Army Chaplains' Blog

No not yet! Revd Tracey Bateson

Posted on: September 25, 2011

Some of you will have followed Padre Tracey’s journey through pregnancy on the pages of this blog. You will be pleased to learn that said ‘bump’ is now a healthy baby boy doing his best to keep mum and dad awake. Tracey’s last offering before maternity leave teaches us something about the nature of waiting. It reminds me of a profound theological reflection written by W H Vanstone titled ‘The Stature of Waiting’, but more of this another time. Tracey writes:

The reply to the endless question? Any News Yet? Has the Baby come??

‘Love is kind, love is patient, love is gentle’. I have read these words many times at weddings but the past few weeks have alerted me to them in a different context – waiting to give birth. I took two weeks off before he was due, sure he was coming early – he was a good size and all had been going very well (and I thought giving birth amongst Soldiers would be traumatising for all concerned!). In those two weeks I did all things that needed doing and some that did not, such as re-organising my DVD’s and at the point of tidying the spice rack I knew things were going to be tough…thankfully swimming each day gave me something to hang the day on! And then it was the Due-Day and Nothing…and the next day and the next day…and now we’re at D-Day +7!

I reasoned with humour that my womb was too comfortable and too cosy a place to be, laughing with my husband that our child was going to be a pot holer as he enjoyed damp dark places. I then went through the baby blues early…D-Day +3 I was totally fed up. I had stopped swimming, not really wanting the pool to have to shut because of my waters breaking, I tried to stay in bed longer so the day wasn’t so long and I smiled politely when many people told me to make the most of having time off without a screaming infant…but I felt I was slowly gong mad…

Don’t get me wrong, I have spent more time with God and it’s been a good time to catch up on trying to read the Bible in a Year, although on one morning I was bemused as throughout the Book of Jeremiah there are far too many references to the pain of childbirth!! I have spent time in prayer and in the stillness and quiet have reflected a lot on the return of Jesus and how we don;t know when hat will be either – but I will leave those reflections until the season of Advent. I have prayed more for people I know who are house bond, bed bound, terminally ill and how truly hard it is for all people who are ill, trapped and unable to live as they would prefer…

Throughout all of this I have also been very thankful for my husband’s presence and stoicism. He has been amazing – of course at times everything has been his fault, but he has tried to be there for me, going for strolls, playing games, forfeiting some things he would prefer to do just in case I go into labour. But at the times when everything has been his fault, I have been mindful of many people within our Military community who would love for their partners to be with them rather than serving on Operations.

So my Patience has been truly tested, my being kind and gentle to a bump who is just too lazy to move has been tested…but still we wait for God’s perfect timing…

Is it theologically sound to pray; ‘Thy will be done…but please hurry up?’

2 Responses to "No not yet! Revd Tracey Bateson"

Very best wishes Tracey – and I hope that the “healthy baby boy” soon learns to sleep through the night 🙂

Congratulations Padré Tracey! Welcome to the three of you. Do they do DPM babygro’s yet? ;0)

Leave a Reply

